View all facilities

Bulow Plantation Ruins Site - State of Florida

Other Link Florida's Bulow Plantation Ruins Site

Features

  1. Boat Ramp
  2. Boating
  3. Canoe/Non-Motor Boats
  4. Dock/Pier
  5. Fishing
  6. Parking
  7. Picnic Area
  8. Restrooms
  9. Walk/Jog Bike Path
The 150 acres of Bulow Plantation Ruins stand as a monument to the rise and fall of sugar plantations. In 1836, the Second Seminole War swept away the prosperous Bulow Plantation, where the Bulow family grew sugar cane, cotton, rice, and indigo. Ruins of the former plantation, a sugar mill, a unique spring house, several wells, and the crumbling foundation of the plantation house and slave cabins, show how volatile the Florida frontier was in the early 19th century. 

A scenic walking trail leads visitors to the sugar mill ruins, listed on the National Register of Historic Sites. The park has picnic facilities and an interpretative center which tells the story of the plantation's history. A boat ramp provides access for canoes and small powerboats to scenic Bulow Creek, a designated state canoe trail. Anglers can fish from the dock or a boat.

Bulow Plantation Ruins Site is a Florida state park.

Admission Fee

The admission fee is $4.00 per vehicle. Please use the honor box to pay fees. Correct change is required. Limit 8 per vehicle.

The admission fee is $2.00 for pedestrians, bicyclists, extra passengers, or passengers in a vehicle with a holder of an Annual Individual Entrance Pass. 

Picnic pavilion rentals are $30.00 per day, plus tax.