City Commission

Commission 2023Pictured: From left to right; Zone 1 City Commissioner Lori Tolland, Zone 2 City Commissioner Travis Sargent, Mayor Bill Partington, Zone 3 City Commissioner Susan Persis, and Zone 4 City Commissioner and Deputy Mayor Harold Briley


The legislative body of the City of Ormond Beach is comprised of a mayor and four commissioners:

City Commission Duties

Responsibilities of the City Commission include:

  • Adopting an annual budget
  • Adopting local laws and ordinances
  • Appointing and overseeing the City Manager and City Attorney
  • Establishing policies, water / wastewater rates, and other fees
  • Managing growth and land use
  • Setting the annual tax rate

Areas of Assistance & Advice

The City Manager is appointed by the City Commission and serves as the chief executive officer to carry out their policies and oversee the daily business of the City. 

Professionally qualified and experienced personnel head the city departments and provide municipal services to the public. In addition, boards and committees comprised of many area residents assist and advise the City Commission on various matters.

Elections & Terms

The Mayor is elected at large and must reside within the city limits. Each Commissioner is elected by zone and must reside within their zone. All are elected on a non-partisan basis and have term lengths of two years.

Contact Us

For more information on the City Commission, contact the city at 386-677-0311.